Breaking Boundaries

You are invited to visit the special exhibition Breaking Boundaries untill 31 january 2021. Antwerp hosted the Olympic Games one hundred years ago – the one and only time the Games have been held in Belgium. You can find out all about the unique Antwerp Games. Travel through Olympic history and marvel at the outstanding performances of the Olympic competitors!

Discover all there is to know about the most remarkable records, the most notable sporting legends and the greatest breakthroughs. Together with the athletes of today and yesteryear, we will be breaking our own records as a museum of sporting and Olympic history. Discover your own personal bests, and test your fitness against that of current and previous Olympic champions. This is an exhibition full of sports and games for everyone.

The very first games to follow the Great War

Belgium and the Antwerp Games of 1920 helped create the Olympic Games as we know them today. Our country and all of the participating athletes surpassed their previous records in the very first Games to follow the Great War. These were Olympic Games full of firsts and new traditions, including the very first Olympic Oath and the first Olympic flag.

Visit the exhibition

Open on weekdays from 10am to 5pm
Sundays and holidays from 11am to 5pm
Closed on Saturdays

Olympic fotobooth!

Did you know that an art competition was also part of the first Olympic Games? Gather your courage, jump on stage, take a photo, share your photo with us and win a nice price! 

  1. Visit the photo booth – that is the way to get off to a great start.
  2. Take an amazing photo that includes one of our giant medals.
  3. Share your photo with us so that we can spot it on social media. You can do this by tagging us @Sportimonium and remembering to add #Olympic1920.
  4. The Sportimonium team will award gold, silver and bronze medals for the best photos, taking into account the Olympic values of friendship, respect and excellence.

We will get in touch with the winners!

Breaking Boundaries

Visitez l'exceptionnelle exposition Breaking Boundaries. Il y a cent ans, Anvers organisait les Jeux olympiques. C'est la seule fois où la Belgique accueillit les Jeux. Découvre l'histoire des Jeux uniques d'Anvers. Voyage à travers l'histoire olympique et admire des performances extraordinaires !

Pour tout savoir sur les plus beaux records, les personnalités sportives les plus marquantes et les plus grandes percées. Nous repoussons avec les athlètes d'hier et d'aujourd'hui nos propres limites en tant que musée du sport et de l'olympisme. Cherchez vos propres limites et mesurez votre condition à celle des athlètes olympiques d'hier et d'aujourd'hui. Une exposition sous le signe

Les tout premiers jeux olympiques après la première guerre mondiale

La Belgique a été, il y a 100 ans, avec Anvers 1920, la co-fondatrice des Jeux olympiques tels que nous les connaissons aujourd'hui. Découvrez comment non seulement notre pays, mais aussi les athlètes ont repoussé leurs limites lors des tout premiers Jeux olympiques après la Première Guerre mondiale. Ce furent des Jeux olympiques avec une multitude de « premières qui ont ensuite perduré » : la toute première prestation de serment, le tout premier drapeau olympique..

Visitez l’exposition

Ouvert en semaine de 10 à 17 heures.
Le dimanche et les jours fériés de 11 à 17 heures
Samedi fermé

Photomaton Olympique !

D'ailleurs, saviez-vous que pendant les premiers Jeux olympiques se tenaient également des concours d'art ? Alors, soyez audacieux, sautez sur le podium, prenez une photo, partagez-la avec nous et gagnez un joli prix !
L'important c'est de participer ! Mais gagner serait quand même fantastique ! 

  1. Venez au stand photo ! Tout commence ici.
  2. Prenez une belle photo avec une de nos médailles géantes. 
  3. Partagez-la avec nous sur les réseaux sociaux. Pour ce faire, taguez-nous @Sportimonium et mentionnez également #Olympic1920
  4. L'équipe du Sportimonium décernera une médaille d'or, d'argent et de bronze pour les photos les plus transcendantes. Il sera tenu compte des valeurs olympiques : amitié, respect et excellence ! 

Les gagnants seront informés.